Friday, 15 August 2014 00:00

Some people would rather be misled by a lie that verifies their path than led by a truth that questions their hope.

Monday, 01 September 2014 00:00

Ever had your child come home with a first time project from school and see that its not very good? Are you appreciative or correcting?

Monday, 08 September 2014 00:00

When 80% of youth coaches are parents and parents have a hard time being objective, why are we surprised that this conflict of interest is not working?

Monday, 15 September 2014 00:00

Has anyone here grown more quickly and got better at their job more from learning and correcting mistakes rather than being told what to do?

Monday, 22 September 2014 00:00

When is the last time you made a mistake at work and your boss made you stay after and run laps? Life skills taught to kids? HMMM!

Monday, 29 September 2014 00:00

Do we teach English the same way to a 2nd grader, than an 8th grader, than a 10th grader, than a college student? Why then do we coach that way?

Monday, 06 October 2014 00:00

Everyone in college sports is good. We look for athletes that make those around them better. Do you fit that profile as a player? coach? parent?

Monday, 20 October 2014 00:00

I hear it a lot. I don't want my child to struggle like I did as a kid. Remember what you learned from those struggles? Good life lessons.

Monday, 27 October 2014 00:00

People say we have to teach kids to be competitive. How does sitting on the bench teach that? And, no, it does not teach them to work harder.

Monday, 03 November 2014 00:00

The brain is a muscle. Exercise it. That does not mean telling someone what to do. That's like walking a kid in a carriage for his workout.

Wednesday, 24 December 2014 00:00

A coach's main job is to forge relationships with and for his players so that they are comfortable enough to play outside their comfort zone.

Monday, 05 January 2015 00:00

The brain does not know the difference in what sport you are playing.

Monday, 12 January 2015 00:00

Once we devalued community and made individual success paramount, it seems we have less individuals getting better, more injuries, and less fun.

Monday, 19 January 2015 00:00

Did you ever figure out a solution to a problem that others were struggling with? How did it make you feel? Good right? Kids want that too!