Quotes Archive

Monday, 13 April 2015 00:00

You say you play to win; I play to compete. In the long run, I have a better chance of winning than you do.

Monday, 06 April 2015 00:00

An athlete can get better at their sport by not playing it. Once you understand why, you will be on a different path to success.

Sunday, 22 March 2015 00:00

Inclusion not exclusion. Do you want to buy a car from a dealer with 10 cars or 50 cars in the lot?

Sunday, 15 March 2015 00:00

I saw kids playing pond hockey, no adults, no coaching, just playing. How can something that natural and so good not be a part of youth sports?

Monday, 09 February 2015 00:00

You see a child playing with friends by themselves. Can't we create activities that mirror that free play as they seem to enjoy that more than structure?

Tuesday, 03 February 2015 00:00

The premise of the current youth sport's regimen is flawed. People are already competitive. Ever heard of Black Friday? No coaching there.

Monday, 26 January 2015 00:00

Children learn a lot from modeled behavior. Make sure manners are an important part of your coaching program.

Monday, 19 January 2015 00:00

Did you ever figure out a solution to a problem that others were struggling with? How did it make you feel? Good right? Kids want that too!

Monday, 12 January 2015 00:00

Once we devalued community and made individual success paramount, it seems we have less individuals getting better, more injuries, and less fun.

Monday, 05 January 2015 00:00

The brain does not know the difference in what sport you are playing.

Wednesday, 24 December 2014 00:00

A coach's main job is to forge relationships with and for his players so that they are comfortable enough to play outside their comfort zone.

Monday, 03 November 2014 00:00

The brain is a muscle. Exercise it. That does not mean telling someone what to do. That's like walking a kid in a carriage for his workout.

Monday, 27 October 2014 00:00

People say we have to teach kids to be competitive. How does sitting on the bench teach that? And, no, it does not teach them to work harder.

Monday, 20 October 2014 00:00

I hear it a lot. I don't want my child to struggle like I did as a kid. Remember what you learned from those struggles? Good life lessons.